Ratings System

It has come to my attention that I have not yet created a ratings system for the books I will be reviewing.  Or more accurately, I have, but haven’t yet explained it.  Here are the different rankings I will be giving books:

Great– These are the books I love.  The books I couldn’t live without.  The books that I will gush and gush about.  The books that changed my life in some great way.  These are not your run-of-the-mill books.  These are a cut above the rest.  Needless to say, you should read every book in this category.

Very Good– These books were gripping and/or fun.  They made me laugh, cry, or scream.  They made me tear frantically through the pages to get to the end.  While I love these books and highly recommend them, they are missing that certain something that would bump them up to “great.”

Good– These books were all right.  I enjoyed reading them, I suppose, but they’re nothing special.  There wasn’t anything particularly wrong with them.  The poor things tried, but they couldn’t quite make it.  Sure, read them, but only if you have nothing better to do.

Not So Good– These books were rather mediocre.  Sure, there may have been a redeeming quality or two.  Perhaps there was a fun character, or a fascinating concept.  All in all, though, they were not enjoyable reads.  If you happen to come across one at the library, go ahead and read it, but I wouldn’t spend money on it.

Bad– These books are, in some way, AWFUL.  Maybe they’re riddled with plot holes, or they’re long without being entertaining, or their message is laid on a little too thick.  Whatever it is, they’re unpleasant, and they stink of rotting creativity.  If you see any of these books, back away slowly and take deep breaths.  If these books approach you, try playing dead.

Leave a Reply

